Fiction Books

A Son’s Vow

thA Son’s Vow: The Charmed Amish Life Book One

Shelley Shepard Gray


About the Book:


Shelley Shepard Gray’s first book in her Charmed Amish Life series is set in the quaint Amish village of Charm, Ohio, and tells the stories of the Kinsinger siblings who are each struggling to find both forgiveness and love in the face of tragedy.

Three months ago, everything changed for Darla Kurtz and her family. Darla’s father was responsible for a terrible fire at Charm’s lumber mill which killed five Amish men. And though he, too, lost his life, the town of Charm hasn’t looked at her family the same since. Even Lukas Kinsinger—with whom Darla used to have a close friendship.

Now her brother’s anger at the town is spilling over onto Darla, and she has the bruises to prove it. The accident already cost five lives, but if something doesn’t change soon, Darla fears it will cost her—and her family—even more.

Lukas Kinsinger wants to mourn the loss of his father, but he can hardly find the time to breathe. Suddenly the head of his father’s lumber mill and responsible for taking care of his three siblings, he’s feeling the pressure. He has also never felt more alone—especially with the new tension between he and Darla. But when he learns of her troubles at home, Lukas knows he can’t simply stand by and watch. Someone has to help her before another tragedy occurs.

As Lukas and Darla attempt to repair their families, they discover something deeper than friendship growing between them. But will Lukas and Darla’s love be accepted after so much loss? Or will the pain of the past overcome any chance of future happiness?

About the Author:

Shelley-Shepard-GrayShelley Shepard Gray is a New York Times and USA Today bestselling author, a finalist for the American Christian Fiction Writers prestigious Carol Award, and a two-time HOLT Medallion winner. She lives in southern Ohio, where she writes full-time, bakes too much, and can often be found walking her dachshunds on her town’s bike trail.






My Review:

A Son’s Vow is the first book in Ms. Gray’s new series, The Charmed Amish Life, and takes place in Charm, Ohio. Heartache and tragedy takes place in everyone’s life and how you learn to overcome all comes down to where do you put your hope and trust. When tragedy strikes both the Kurtz family and the Kinsinger family and a friendship ends, what can be done to help both families overcome. Darla Kurtz’s father is responsible for the fire that took the life five men, including himself and Darla is feeling the anger her brother has for the town. Lukas Kinsinger used to be best friends with Darla until his father was one of the Amish men killed in the fire and now he has to run his father’s lumber mill and he is also responsible for his three siblings.

Lukas decides to do what is right and fights for Darla, he knows he has to help her. While he helps her will he be able to put aside everything that has happened or will he walk away from her again?

I loved the story of Lukas and Darla and while I was reading A Son’s Vow I came to realize how heartache and tragedy can cause us to turn away from everything we know that is true. God is here for us and so is others.

I highly recommend A Son’s Vow to all Amish Fiction lovers. This is another great book by Ms. Gray!! You will definitely not want to miss this one..

Thank you to the Author for providing me a copy of this book for my personal and honest review. All opinions expressed here are my own.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s